For additional information, see this informational poster.
The criteria for the Clinton County Sheriff's Office to issue new "carry concealed" permits follows the State of Iowa requirements with some exceptions:
- Professional permits to carry will be issued to qualified applicants if their need to go armed is employment-based and is a critical element in the protection of life and property.
- Nonprofessional permits to carry will only be issued to residents that are not prohibited from carrying or possessing a firearm and can reasonably justify going armed under Code of Iowa Chapter 724.
Should you meet the above criteria and wish to apply for a "permit to carry" weapons permit, please complete an application. The cost of a new “permit to carry” is $50. This will be valid for 5 years from the date of issue.
Prior to processing, all applications will require that you provide the following:
- Bring application to the Clinton County Sheriff’s office-Clinton location
- DL/photo ID is required and it must to be up to date
- Training certificate required for all new applicants
Permit to Carry Renewal
The Renewal of a current Permit to Carry requires a fee of $25 and is valid for five years from the date of issue. Applications for renewals may be submitted anytime from 30 days prior to expiration to 30 days after your current permit expires. The Renewal Permit no longer requires that you provide documentation from a refresher firearms training course or qualification on a firing range. Persons wishing to obtain a renewal who have missed the renewal window must apply as a new applicant and pay the $50 fee. No new training documentation is required.
A duplicate permit may be obtained if a valid Permit to Carry has been lost or stolen. This permit requires a fee of $25 and an application to be completed. Permits are issued using the original date of issuance after processing the permit application.
Permit to Acquire
A Permit to Acquire requires a fee of $25 and an application to be completed. This will be valid for five years from the date of issue. There is no renewal for Permits to Acquire. A person holding a permit to carry need not obtain a separate permit to acquire.
We accept cash, check or debit/credit card for a permit payment. You may now also pay Gun Permit Fees online using GovPayNet.
Acquiring and Possessing Firearms in Iowa
The acquisition and possession of firearms in Iowa are regulated by both federal and state law. All requirements must be met.
You may not acquire or possess a firearm if you:
- Are under indictment or have been convicted of a felony.
- Are a fugitive from justice.
- Are an unlawful user of or are addicted to any controlled substance.
- Have been adjudicated as a mental defective or have been committed to a mental institution.
- Are an illegal alien.
- Have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions.
- Have renounced your U.S. citizenship.
- Are subject to a court order that restrains you from harassing, stalking or threatening your intimate partner, your child, or the child of your intimate partner.
- Have been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime resulting from domestic violence.
For more information contact the Clinton County Sheriff or the Iowa Department of Public Safety.
Office Hours: Monday - Friday | 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Clinton County Sheriff's Office
241 7th Ave. North
Clinton, Iowa 52732
Telephone: 563-242-9211 option 3