Clinton County area schools and the Clinton County Attorney office work together to address the issue of school truancy throughout Clinton County, Iowa.
It is the responsibility of parent(s) and legal guardians to make sure that their child(ren) attend school regularly. Chapter 299 of the Iowa Code requires that every child between the ages 5-16 shall attend school. Excessive absences can lead to criminal charges being filed against each parent, punishable by up to ten days in jail or up to a $100 fine for a first offense.
Did you know?
- Missing 10%, or 2 days a month of school over the course of a year can affect a student’s academic success. Missing two days a month can make it harder for the student to gain reading and math skills, build relationships and develop good habits that they will carry with them into their future.
- By 6th grade, chronic absence becomes a leading indicator that a child will drop out of high school.
- Children who do not attend school regularly are more likely to become involved in delinquent and ultimately criminal behaviors.
- Children who are truant often have low self-esteem. Attending school regularly helps children feel better about school and themselves.
What Parents/Guardians Should Do:
- Make sure your child attends school regularly to ensure they stay engaged, successful and on track to graduate. Encourage your child to be involved in after-school activities like sports, clubs, etc.
- Help your child by establishing daily routines such as regular bed time and morning routines.
- Schedule appointments and vacations for your child when they are not in school.
- Report every absence to the school secretary and provide medical documentation when possible or required by the school.
- Late arrivals add up and may effect absences based upon your schools attendance policy.
- Know your schools attendance policy and follow it.