Clinton County Sheriff

Office Hours:  Monday - Friday 8am to 4pm

ATTN: Weapon Permits
Clinton County Law Center 
241 7th Avenue North
 Clinton, Iowa 52732

Telephone: (563) 242-9211
Fax: (563) 243-7993

We accept cash, check or debit/credit card for a permit payment.

You may now pay Gun Permit Fees
online using GovPayNet.

 


Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons Information

On April 30, 2021, Governor Reynolds signed a proclamation extension that did not include statewide regulatory provisions relating to weapons permitting procedures which officially expired at 11:59 p.m. on May 2, 2021. In response to the lifting of the provisions, we’ve prepared the following guidance concerning the handling of renewal permits. As always, please refer to your local county or city attorney for specific legal guidance.
 

  • Nonprofessional and professional carry permits that expired after February 18, 2020, and were within the 30-day renewal period at the beginning of the proclamation on March 19, 2020, will be eligible for the $25 renewal fee for 30-days following the lifting of the proclamation. That date would be June 1, 2021.  
  • Nonprofessional and professional carry permits that expired during the proclamation will be eligible for the $25 renewal rate for 30-days following the lifting of the proclamation.   That date would be June 1, 2021.  
  • Following the lifting of the proclamation, carry permits that expired during the proclamation are immediately invalid for the purpose of carrying weapons, but will be eligible for the $25 renewal fee for 30-days following the lifting of the proclamation - June 1, 2021. 
Updated Legislation (HF756) signed April 2, 2021

Effective September 1, 2017

Iowa Application for Permit to Carry Weapons

Iowa Application for Permit to Aquire

 

For additional information visit the Iowa Department of Public Safety website at http://www.dps.state.ia.us/

Types of Permits available:

Annual Permit to Acquire Pistols or Revolvers - A permit to acquire authorizes the holder to acquire pistols and revolvers and long guns;  however, this does not authorize the holder to carry a weapon.  Applications MUST be filed with the Sheriff of the county of residence. The fee for the permit to acquire is $25.00.

Nonprofessional Permit to Carry Weapons - A nonprofessional permit to carry authorizes the permit holder to carry weapons within the restrictions of the issuing officer. 

The criteria for the Clinton County Sheriff's Office to issue new "carry concealed" permits follows the State of Iowa requirements with some exceptions:

  1. Professional permits to carry will be issued to qualified applicants if their need to go armed is employment based and is a  critical element in the protection of life and property.
  2. Nonprofessional permits to carry will only be issued to residents that are not prohibited from carrying or possessing a firearm and can reasonably justify going armed under Code of Iowa Chapter 724.

Should you meet the above criteria and desire to apply for a "permit to carry" weapons permit, please fill out an "Application for Permit to Carry Weapons" form.  A criminal history background check will then be performed.  

Acquiring and Possessing Firearms in Iowa - The acquisition and possession of firearms in Iowa are regulated by both federal and state law.  All requirements must be met.

Federal Regulations - You may not acquire or possess a firearm if you: 

  • Are under indictment or have been convicted of a felony.
  • Are a fugitive from justice.
  • Are an unlawful user of or are addicted to any controlled substance.
  • Have been adjudicated as a mental defective or have been committed to a mental institution.
  • Are an illegal alien.
  • Have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions.
  • Have renounced your U.S. citizenship.
  • Are subject to a court order that restrains you from harassing, stalking or threatening your intimate partner, your child, or the child of your intimate partner.
  • Have been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime resulting from domestic violence.

For more information contact the Clinton County Sheriff or the Iowa Department of Public Safety.