

Office of the Secretary Washington, DC 20250

April 1, 2024

THE HONORABLE KIM REYNOLDS
Governor
State of Iowa
State Capitol
Des Moines, IA 50319

Dear Governor Reynolds:

In accordance with 7 CFR 759.5(a), I am designating 24 Iowa counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

In accordance with Section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loan assistance, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

THOMAS J. VILSACK Secretary

Enclosure

DISASTER DESIGNATION AREAS FOR IOWA AND CONTIGUOUS STATES

Primary Counties:

| Iowa | (24) |
|------|------|
|------|------|

Cerro Gordo Benton Franklin Mitchell Black Hawk Howard Poweshiek Chickasaw Tama Bremer Clayton Iowa Delaware Washington Buchanan Johnson Winneshiek Butler Fayette Jones Cedar Floyd Linn Worth

Contiguous Counties:

| Iowa | (19) |) |
|------|------|---|
| iowa | (19) | |

Allamakee Hancock Jefferson Muscatine Scott Clinton Hardin Keokuk Dubuque Henry Louisa Winnebago Grundy Jackson Mahaska Wright Jasper Hamilton Marshall

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

Minnesota (4)

Fillmore Freeborn Houston Mower

Wisconsin (2) Crawford Grant