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Clinton County 
Emergency and Expanded FMLA and Emergency Paid Sick 

Leave Act during the COVID-19 Pandemic 
 
 

POLICY STATEMENT 
 
It is the purpose of this policy to provide employees and county officials with guidelines to 
comply with H.R. 6201-18 Sec. 5101 Division C Emergency Family and Medical Leave Expansion 
Act and Division E-Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act.   
This policy will go into effect on April 1, 2020. There will be no retroactive payment(s). 
 
SCOPE 
 
This policy applies to Clinton County staff.  Please review policy as some scenarios are not 
applicable to emergency responder employees (Sheriff Office staff, Communications staff, 
County Health and Emergency Management).  This policy does not apply to Elected Officials.   
 
GOALS   
  
The goals of this policy are to provide direction to staff, department heads, and elected officials 
to comply with H.R. 6201-18 Sec. 5101 Division C Emergency Family and Medical Leave 
Expansion Act and Division E-Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act.   
 
ABSENCES ELIGIBLE FOR COVID-19 LEAVE 
 
For employees quarantined or sick with COVID-19 
The County will grant up to 80 hours of paid COVID-19 leave* to employees who have been 
required or advised to quarantine by a medical provider or a county, state, or federal agency, or 
who have been advised by a medical provider they have confirmed or presumptively confirmed 
COVID-19. Employees must complete a Request for COVID -19 Leave form and provide it to 
Human Resources before the special pay will be granted. If the employee is unable to return to 
work after the COVID-19 leave has been exhausted, they may use any accrued leave banks to 



Clinton County EFMLA and EPSLA   Update 3/27/2020 Page 2 
 

cover their remaining absence. This will be covered under FMLA and is dependent upon FMLA 
leave balance.   
 
Employees must follow CDC or Iowa Department of Public Health guidelines for returning to 
work after the illness. 
 
*all COVID-19 leave will be prorated for part-time employees. 
 
For employees caring for an individual quarantined or sick with covid-19 
 
The County will grant up to 80 hours of paid COVID-19 leave* to those employees providing 
direct care for an individual required or advised to be quarantined by a medical provider, or a 
county, state, or federal agency, or an individual who has been advised by a medical provider 
they have confirmed or presumptively confirmed COVID-19. Employees must complete a 
Request for COVID -19 Leave form and provide it to Human Resources before the special pay 
will be granted. If the employee continues to care for the individual after the COVID-19 leave 
has been exhausted, they may use accrued and unused leave banks to cover their remaining 
absence. Absences longer than two weeks must have FMLA certification stating additional leave 
is necessary. Additional leave will be dependent upon FMLA leave balance.   
 
*County Emergency Responder employees are exempt from this provision of COVID-19 leave. 
 
Employees must follow CDC or Iowa Department of Public Health guidelines for returning to 
work after caring for an individual impacted by COVID-19. 
 
*all COVID-19 leave will be prorated for part-time employees. 
 
 
For employees with children impacted by school district/daycare closures  
This section serves as a “qualifying need related to a public health emergency” under the FFCRA. 
If schools or daycare facilities where the children of employees attend close due COVID-19, the 
County will make every effort to adjust hours, create an alternative work schedule or telework. 
If no alternative work solutions are found, the County will grant COVID-19 leave. 
The first 10 days the employee will choose to either take it unpaid, or paid from any of the 
employee’s accrued leave banks. 
The County will pay up to 2/3 of the employee’s normal pay (maximum $200.00 per day) for up 
to an additional 10 weeks dependent upon FMLA balance. Employees must complete a Request 
for COVID -19 Leave form and provide it to Human Resources before the special pay will be 
granted. 
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In general, COVID-19 leave will only be granted during the hours a child would normally be in 
school or daycare and only to who are not able to adjust their hours or work from home, where 
alternative childcare is unavailable, AND whose children:  
• Are under the age of 18  
• Attend daycare or a K-12 school, or  
• Have special needs and would be unable to care for themselves while their parents are 
at work.  
 
*County Emergency Responder employees are exempt from this provision of COVID-19 leave. 
 
*all COVID-19 leave will be prorated for part-time employees.  

 
CONTACT INFORMATION 
In all cases of absence, employees must provide current contact information (including phone 
number and email address) to their supervisor. 
 
NOTIFYING EMPLOYER 
The act specifies that in any case where the necessity for a leave, the employee shall provide 
the employer with as much notice as practicable.  
 
RETURN TO WORK 
Following the conclusion of the leave, the County will make reasonable efforts to restore the 
employee to either their position or a position equivalent to the position the employee held 
when the leave commenced, with equivalent employment benefits, pay, and other terms and 
conditions of employment.    
 
REQUESTING A Leave 

To request a leave, the employee will complete a form found on the Clinton County website 
under HOW DO I? > Clinton County Policies then email it to daldridge@clintoncounty-ia.gov  or 
fax to 563-242-3154. **DO not deliver or mail if you are sick or taking care of someone who is sick.   

 
 
Note: 
This policy will go into effect on April 1, 2020.  There will be no retroactive payment(s). 
Both of these acts (EFMLA and EPSLA) will expire on December 31, 2020 or as determined by 
the Federal Government.   
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