MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO CLINTON COUNTY RECORDER

MARRIAGE
APPLICATION FOR A SEARCH FOR AN IOWA RECORD

Requests require the applicant’s current government- issued photo identification (i.e., driver’s license)
and signature signed in front of a notary public or in the presence of an lowa Registrar of Vital Records.

1. BRIDE’S NAME BEFORE ANY MARRIAGE

FIRST MIDDLE, ff any MAIDEN (Last)
2. GROOM’S NAME AS IT APPEARS ON THE RECORD
FIRST MIDDLE, if any SURNAME (Last)
3. DATE OF MARRIAGE - BE SPECIFIC — Month/Day/Year
4.  PLACE OF MARRIAGE (City and/or
County where license obtained)
5. PURPOSE FOR COPY 6. BIRTHDATE of APPLICANT/RECIPIENT

. HOW ARE YOU RELATED TO THE PERSON NAMED ON THE RECORD?
8. NAME AND ADDRESS OF PERSON TO RECEIVE THIS COPY: (MUST BE AGE 18 OR OLDER & ENTITLED TO THE RECORD)

8a. Name of Applicant/Recipient

8b. Street address and P.O. Box (if any)

8c. City, State and Zip Code

9. THE SEARCH RESULT IS TO BE (Checkone) [ _JMailed  [_J Picked up for in-person requests only)

10.. THE NON-REFUNDABLE FEE TO SEARCH IS $15.00 and one certified copy is issued if the record is located.
Each additional copy of the same record is $15.00. Indicate the number of copies of this record you need.

11.  THIS SEARCH PAID BY (Checkone) [_JCheck [_)Money Order [_J Cash {in-person ony) 12. AMOUNT ENCLOSED

Checks must be drawn from the applicants’ account; money orders must be in the name of the applicant. Fee payment must accompany this form.
Checks should be payable to ‘lowa Dept. of Public Health' (IDPH).

13. APPLICANT’S NAME (Print clearly) 14. DAYTIME PHONE #

(Inciude area code}

| certify that the information provided on this application is accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge and that | have legal entitement to a
certified copy of this record. | have signed below in front of a notary public or an lowa registrar of vital records.

15. APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE 16. DATE
APPLICANT’S NAME AS APPEARS ON PHOTO L.D. (Print clearly) Administrative
Use Only

State of County of ss (SEAL)
I.D.

Signed and affirmed in my presence on this day of Initial
nitials

, My commission expires:
(Notary Public Signature) .

PRIOR TO MAILING:
0 INCLUDE A CLEAR PHOTO COPY OF YOUR IDENTIFICATION (i.e., driver’s license)
0 NOTARIZE YOUR SIGNATURE ON THIS APPLICATION

[0 INCLUDE PAYMENT AS DESCRIBED IN ITEM 13, 14 AND 15 ABOVE

SEE OTHER SIDE FOR ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS




To Request a Search for an lowa Marriage Record for the Purpose of Obtaining a Certified
Copy

In Iowa, official registration of marriages began July 1, 1880. Original records that were registered are on file with the
Towa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Health Statistics. Statewide record searches are available from the state
registrar. Local vital records registrars are located in county recorders’ offices, where records of births and deaths that
have occurred in that county are maintained. Marriage records are maintained in the county where the license to marry
was obtained. County registrars are not authorized by law to have records for marriages between the years 1921 to
1941. Per lowa law, information about a specific record is not available over the telephone or by prepared lists. Iowa law
provides for public viewing in the county where the record is maintained, or certified copies issued to entitled persons.

Applications to search for a vital record event for the purpose of obtaining a certified copy must be in writing,
completely identify the record, and establish entitlement to the record being requested. Entitled persons include the
person named on the record or that person’s spouse, children, legal parents, grandparents, grandchildren, siblings, or legal
representative or guardian. Legal guardians and representatives must also provide additional proof of guardianship or
representation. Applicants must be 18 or older. Requests must include the applicant’s current government-issued photo
identification (i.e., driver’s license), except if by mail, a clear photocopy of the 1.D., and the applicant’s signature signed
in front of a notary public or in the presence of an Iowa Registrar of Vital Records.

PAYMENT: A non-refundable $15 fee is required to search for a record and includes one certified copy if the
record is located. Each additional copy of the same record is $15. Fees are payable in U.S. funds by check or money
order to the issuing registrar’s office. Checks must be drawn from the applicants’ account; money orders must be in the
name of the applicant. Fees must be paid at the time of the application (Towa Constitution, Article VII, Section 1).






